Mozart with the Kreutzer Quartet

Mozart with the Kreutzer Quartet

Mozart String Quintet in B Flat Major K174 (1773)

Mozart String Quintet in E Flat Major K614 (1791)

Mozart Adagio K411 (1782)

Peter Sheppard Skærved, Mihailo Trandafilovski – Violins
Morgan Goff, Diana Mathews – Violas
Neil Heyde – Cello
Roger Heaton – Clarinet

Wiltons Music Hall, the world’s last surviving grand music hall, with its stunning acoustics and atmosphere, is one of my favourite venues. Perfectly suited to the intimacy of chamber music, it is a privilege to perform there with the vibrant and inspiring Kreutzer Quartet.

In this concert, the Kreutzer Quartet was joined by Roger Heaton for the world premiere of Mihailo Trandafilovski’s Clarinet Quintet ‘Magnets, Lava, Crystals’. The stark contrast between the extended techniques used in the clarinet quintet and the more familiar idiom of the Mozart string quintets defined the aim of the concert – to perform classical works alongside new works which can be appreciated and enjoyed by everyone.