Holst and Holst with the Tudor Orchestra

Diana Mathews – viola.
The Tudor Orchestra.
Conductor – Owen Leech. 

Gustav Holst (1874-1934) Lyric Movement for viola and orchestra

Imogen Holst (1907-1984) ‘Joyce’s Divertimento’.

Trinity Church Centre, North Finchley, London.

It was a rare chance to perform the works of father and daughter alongside one another. ‘Joyce’s Divertimento’, written for a busy amateur to play with her orchestra, couldn’t be more different from the elegiac ‘Lyric Movement’. While the former is a light-hearted work in three short movements, the latter is a one-movement work of supreme beauty and expression, written just a year before the composer died.